WeTek Community Forum

several issues (frame-drops, shutdown-hangup and app crashing but generally impressed

redchiliredchili Posts: 13WeTek Community Member
dear community,

first i'd like to send a big THANKS to everyone involved at wetek for releasing such a nice box as the core. i'm pretty new to streaming-/internetenabled-TV and after being confused which product would suit my requirements (if any) i'm lucky to have found the wetek core.

shipping was blazing fast and arrived the next day (within europe).
while i havent had the chance to fully try all the features of the core my first impressions are quite positive. the build-quality of the box and the remote are quite ok and most things have been working as expected so far but some glitches remain, which i would like to report and ask advice about here.

after receiving my core i quickly upgraded to the latest build (WeTek OS 1.0.1) via online update (through sd-card) which went without any hassle.

when connecting the core to my hifi-system i experience some annoying ground-loop interference which seems odd as both systems are connected to the same ac/ground wall-plug. i might be able to solve this by adding a ground loop isolator to my setup but havent come across this in such extent so far when i connected other devices (laptop, audio-players, ...).

what seems more annoying is that i've repeatedly seen some frame-drops (blackouts) mostly during watching video-streams but also while listening to web-radio. when these drops happen the mostly last only for a glimpse but i've also seen very few lasting for almost a second and once a blackout during daydream that didn't recover at all (until i pulled the power-chord after minutes). during these longer frame-drops i notices some fine horizontal specks being visible which reminded me a bit of an empty part on a vhs-tape back in the day ;).
any ideas what might cause these? my display related settings were:
resolution: auto (-> 1080p 60hz)